Singer and Musician Ashley Xtina Paving the Way: A New Generation of Women in Music

Fans! Below is a quick summary of the post on Glitter and Stilettos about me 🙂 You can read the whole thing HERE. Happy reading! 

Photo by: Anabella Veress
Photo by: Anabella Veress

While some feel that the organic sounds of music have been lost to excessive production and trendy commercial styles, there are still artists who lend their craft to revive the deep sounds that music fans have come to know and love. Singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Ashley Xtina has unveiled an eclectic style that summons the old and beckons the new in the spirit of true artistry and self-expression. With a style that is reminiscent to Adele, this young singer and musician is surely leaving her very own mark for the world to behold.

The release of Ashley’s latest EP ‘Stability’ welcomes fans into an exceptional journey that fuses together the warm and soothing sounds of soul infused with contemporary pop and poetical lyricism. Venture along with us as we gain further insight into pioneering the artist known as Ashley Xtina.

Paving the Way for a New Generation of Women in Music

Describe to us the Ashley Xtina Experience?

I think the Ashley Xtina Experience can be a lot of things. First of all, it differs in recordings and onstage. Secondly it differs when I’m solo than when I’m with the band. I think the experience is really connecting with the audience. And I do that by singing songs that not only tell my story but tell theirs as well. When they all sing along, it’s the most rewarding feeling.

You recently released your solo EP ‘Stability’, can you tell us a little bit about what goes into a project of this magnitude?

Time, Dedication and Money. This was my first studio recording experience and so I got there my first day and was a bit overwhelmed. Luckily I had a team full of angels. From my producer to my photographer to my designer, really everyone made the process so much easier. I don’t know what I would have done without them. It also helps to have the support of your loved ones. After all those late nights at the studio it’s nice to have understanding people to come home to.

“Let Me Go” is one of the singles off of your EP, what inspired this particular track?

Let Me Go is a breakup song. There’s no other way around saying it. There’s a point in a relationship where you can either see a future with that person, or it’s just not possible but because love is such a strong feeling sometimes it’s hard to really acknowledge that it is over. This is song is pretty much saying: this relationship is over, please forget about me, but at the same time I’ll still be here because the feelings are still there.

You have a very distinct sound, how did you find your unique voice as an artist?

I believe that my voice is still developing in terms of style and writing. I’m just starting out but I know that there’s a lot of trial and error involved. I think it’s also important to be open to new genres and co-writes. You never really know what can happen with those.

‘Stability’, in particular your single “Dream” has been the hot topic of conversation on several radio stations and publications, receiving critical acclaim… what is one thing that you hope your fans will take away from the listening experience?

Dream actually wasn’t on the EP, however it won honorable mention in American Songwriter Magazine’s Lyric Contest last spring. It was a huge honor for me being that I definitely take the most pride in being a lyricist. I actually just entered the contest again, I’m going for 1st place this time though! In terms of the EP though, it was an emotional songwriting and recording process and I just hope that people can feel those same emotions as they listen through the songs. It’s interesting to hear different people’s take on each one of them.

Ashley XtinaWhat have been some of your greatest influences along your journey in music thus far?

I’m not sure if I have a role model, but I’d like to think that I’m a combination of all of my biggest musical influences (Aja Volkman, Grace Potter, Adele, Sia) and also take a part of every person in my life that’s supported me and that I’ve met along the way. To be an artist, especially in NYC where there is so much competition you have to be strong and I think that’s why I’m most intrigued by all these powerhouse female voices. They’re empowering.

Can you share with us what it is like to take your music to the stage and perform at some of the most sought after venues of our time?

At first it was definitely scary. After a year of doing it though I think what used to scare me now excites me. There’s nothing more exciting than to send people a new song and watch their reaction.

If there were a single word to describe your journey so far, what would it be?
Inspiring.

What advice would you offer to other aspiring singers and songwriters looking to make their break?

It takes a lot of courage to step up and show people your stuff. Being scared was what held me back for a long time and now that I’ve let that fear go I’m a better artist and a better person. Just get out there and flaunt your talent because really you have nothing to lose.

What’s next for Ashley Xtina?

World domination. Hahaha not really but I think the goal for this year is to pave way for females in the music industry especially in the genre of rock and roll. Definitely recording a demo with Queen of Wands, writing a lot of new music and playing a lot of shows. Rock on!

Leave a comment